Temperature 24.05 C New Delhi, IN
Sunday, April 14, 2024
No Image

Tezpur University Faculty Member Chosen for INSA Young Scientist Medal

Guwahati: Sanjay Pratihar, a scientist at Tezpur University has been awarded the prestigious Indian National Science Academy (INSA) Medal for Young Scientist Award for the year 2017, for his excellent contribution to multi-metal complexes, theoretical understanding, selective sensing of Hq2+ions and important applications in agriculture.

Pratihar of the Department of Chemical Sciences had earlier received ‘DST-INSPIRE Faculty’ award in July 2012 and had done his PhD in Organometallic Chemistry from the Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur.


The award, consisting of a bronze medal and cash award of Rs. 25,000 will be given to him during INSA’s anniversary meeting scheduled in December.


Instituted in 1974 by the Indian National Science Academy, the INSA medal for young scientists are awarded annually to honour talented young Indian scientists in recognition of their outstanding contributions in any branch of science or technology coming within the purview of the Academy.