Temperature 26.05 C New Delhi, IN
Saturday, April 13, 2024
No Image

Govt. extends crop diversification programme to tobacco growing states

NEW DELHI: Department of Agriculture, Cooperation & Farmers Welfare (DAC&FW) has extended crop diversification  programme to tobacco growing states of Andhra Pradesh, Bihar, Gujarat, Karnataka, Maharashtra, Odisha, Tamil Nadu, Telangana, Uttar Pradesh and  Bengal to encourage tobacco growing farmers to shift to alternate crops/cropping system from 2015-16, Minister of State for Agriculture & Farmers Welfare, Parshottam Rupala informed Rajya Sabha on Friday.

DAC&FW is implementing Crop Diversification Programme in Punjab, Haryana and Western Uttar Pradesh as a sub scheme of Rashtriya Krishi Vikas Yojana (RKVY) since 2013-14 to divert the area of water guzzling paddy to alternate crops like pulses, oilseeds, maize, cotton and agro forestry system.

Under Crop Diversification Programme , Government   is providing assistant for four major components. These are alternate crop demonstrations, farm mechanization and value addition,  site specific activities and contingency for awareness, training, implementation, monitoring, etc.

Centre  also support allied sector activities like dairy & poultry through Department of Animal Husbandry, Dairying & Fisheries (DAHD&F) for the benefit of farmers under various programmes.

Under RKVY, State Government can undertake agriculture including allied sector activities depending on state specific needs/priorities with the approval by State Level Sanctioning Committee (SLSC) headed by Chief Secretary of the State.