Temperature 28.95 C New Delhi, IN
Friday, March 01, 2024
No Image

ICAR celebrates 90th foundation day on 16th July

New Delhi: Indian Council of Agricultural Research (ICAR) is celebrating 90th Foundation Day on 16th July, 2018. Union Minister of Agriculture and Farmers Welfare, Radha Mohan Singh will deliver the Foundation Day Address.

Union Ministers of State for Agriculture and Farmers Welfare, Parshottam Rupala, Gajendra Singh Shekhawat and Smt. Krishna Raj  will also be present on the occasion.

ICAR awards in 13 categories shall also be conferred on the awardees on this occasion. Besides, important agricultural technologies and publications will also be released by the Minister on the occasion.

The awardees being felicitated on this occasion include, five institutions (three Top Ranked Agricultural Universities, 1 All India Coordinated Research Project (AICRP) & its best Centre), 33 scientists including 3 teams of scientists, 3 outstanding teachers, 18 research scholars and 9 administrative staff from all over the country. Besides, 13 Rajbhasha Awards including Rajarshi Tandon Rajbhasha Puraskaar and Ganesh Shankar Vidyarthi Hindi Patrika Puraskaar will also be conferred on the award winners.

 The Foundation Day and the ICAR Award Ceremony will be webcast through ICAR Facebook and can be viewed all over the country.

Indian Council of Agricultural Research (ICAR) acknowledges the outstanding contributions of Institutions, AIRCPs, Scientists, Women Scientists, Extension personnel, Teachers, Research scholars, Progressive and Innovative Farmers, every year by giving away cash award, citation and certificate.

The first of these awards was given in 1956. With the passage of time, new awards were added. ICAR and National Academy of Sciences India (NASI) instituted NASI-ICAR Award for Innovation and Research on Farm Implements from the year 2013 in order to reduce drudgery of farm women.

In addition, award Pandit Deendayal Upadhyay Antyodaya Krishi Puruskarhas also been instituted at National (1) & zonal (11) level by ICAR to recognize the outstanding contributions made by small, marginal and landless category of farmers and will be given away on the birth anniversary of Pt. Deendayal Upadhyay on 25th Sept every year.

At present, there are twenty-three categories of award; twenty-one annual and two biennials. On this occasion of the 90thFoundation Day of ICAR, extraordinary contributions are being recognized in 13 categories including best ranked Agricultural Universities and Rajbhasha Awards.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *