Temperature 31.72 C New Delhi, IN
Tuesday, June 18, 2019
No Image

Kisan Diwas Celebrated at Central Horticultural Experiment Station, Bhubaneswar

Bhubaneswar: Kisan Diwas was celebrated at Central Horticultural Experiment Station (ICAR- Indian Institute of Horticultural Research), Aiginia, Bhubaneswar on 23rd December 2018 under Swachchta Pakhwada. More than 100 participants including farmers from 10 different districts of Odisha attended the day long programme.

The event was inaugurated by Vinod Kumar, Rtd IFS & Independent Director NTPC, Bhubaneswar, Dr. B. B. Samanta, International Consultant for UNICEF in Water supply, Sanitation and Hygiene, Subhranshu Mishra, Deputy Commissioner, Bhubaneswar Municipal Corporation, Bhubaneswar and other dignitaries. Dr G C Acharya, I/C Head CHES, Bhubaneswar welcomed the gathering and enlightened them on the activities of the Station on horticultural technologies and Swachatha programme.

Dr. P. Srinivas, Principal Scientist and I/C ToT spoke elaborately on the essence of celebrating Kisan Diwas and observing cleanliness. Guest of Honour Subhranshu Mishra deliberated on the importance of observing cleanliness in our surroundings and the efforts being taken up by BMC to keep the city clean. Guest of honour, Dr. B.B. Samanta, expressed his happiness that several young and energetic farmers being the successful farmers. He also shared his experiences regarding the national and regional cleanliness details. Chief Guest of the occasion, Vinod Kumar appealed to the farmers to take up new technologies with full dedication to increase the farm income. Seven successful farmers were felicitated for their adoption and popularisation of IIHR technologies.

Farmers from Mera Gaon Mera Gaourav adopted villages were also felicitated for their efforts for creating awareness on Swachchta in their villages. A exhibition of ICAR-IIHR technologies was organised at the venue for the benefit of the participants. In the technical Session elaborate presentations on the horticultural technologies were presented by Dr. Ponnam Naresh, Scientist and Dr. K. Kishore, Principal Scientist, A field visit was organised for the interested farmers in the post technical session.

Vote of thanks was proposed by S. Majhi, Technical Officer, and coordinator of Swachchta pakhwada activities in the Station. The program was coordinated by Dr. P. Srinivas, with active support from Dr. Kundan Kishore, Dr. Ponnam Naresh, Dr. Meenu Kumari,  S. Majhi. Mrs. Rina Pattanaik,  Suchitra Behera, Manoj Pattanaik, A. K. Barik and other staff of the Station.