Temperature 27.05 C New Delhi, IN
Saturday, April 13, 2024
No Image

Ministry of Agriculture signs 12 MoUs in 5 years with foreign countries

NEW DELHI: India has signed 12 Memorandum of Understandings(MoUs) during last five years for cooperation in the field of agriculture. The Minister of State for Agriculture & Farmers Welfare, Sudarshan Bhagat informed  this in Rajya Sabha Friday.

The countries included are Afghanistan, Kazakhstan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Australia, Vietnam, Morocco, Vietnam, Mongolia, Armenia, Madagascar  and Lithuania .

The areas for cooperation in these MoUs/Agreements inter-alia include cooperation in research and development, increasing productivity, post-harvest management, value addition/food processing, plant protection, animal husbandry, dairying and fisheries, enhancing trade and mutual exchange, reciprocal visits of scientists, mutual exchange of technical expertise, exchange of Germ-plasm, transfer of technology, setting up of centers of excellence in different fields to demonstrate new technologies etc.


Various Centre  of Excellences in the areas of fruits and vegetables have been established/approved in different Indian States under the provisions of MoUs signed with Israel, Netherland etc.

This information was given by the Minister of State for Agriculture & Farmers Welfare, Sudarshan Bhagat in Rajya Sabha on Friday, 22 July 2016.