Temperature 41.05 C New Delhi, IN
Wednesday, May 22, 2024
No Image

Odisha Brings 7 crops under PMFBY insurance

Bhubaneswar: Odisha government has decided to bring seven major crops – paddy, cotton, groundnut, turmeric, ginger, maize and red-gram (arhar) under the Pradhan Mantri Fasal Bima Yojana (PMFBY) for the kharif season, 2017.


Last year, five types of crops – paddy, groundnut, cotton, ginger and turmeric – were covered under the PMFBY.


The inclusion of the crops in PMFBY was decided at the State Level Coordination (SLC) Committee meeting on Crop Insurance held under the chairmanship of Chief Secretary A P Padhi.


A total number of 17.63 lakh farmers in Odisha have been brought into the PMFBY insurance which was implemented in the state during kharif 2016 season.