Temperature 35.05 C New Delhi, IN
Friday, June 14, 2024
No Image

Production of Sugarcane

New Delhi: State-wise details of sown area under sugarcane crops during each of the last three years i.e. from 2015-16 to 2017-18 are given at Annexure.

The normal area (average of latest five years) under sugarcane cultivation in the country is 48.84 lakh hectares. During 2015-16 area under sugarcane was estimated above the normal area coverage at 49.27 lakh hectares. The area under sugarcane declined to 44.36 lakh hectares during 2016-17 due to lesser area coverage in Maharashtra and then increased to 47.32 lakh hectares during 2017-18.

The area under sugarcane cultivation depends on farmer’s preference, shift of area to other competing crops, agro-climatic conditions, inter-crop profitability, irrigation facilities, and resource availability with farmers and timely payment of cane dues to farmers by the mills etc.

To enhance production and productivity of sugarcane in the country, the Government has been implementing           Sugarcane Development Programme under National Food Security Mission – Commercial Crops (NFSM-CC) in 13      major sugarcane growing states of the country viz. Andhra Pradesh, Bihar, Gujarat, Haryana, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh,Maharashtra, Odisha, Punjab, Telangana, Tamil Nadu, Uttarakhand and Uttar Pradesh from 2014-15. Under this scheme thrust has been given on transfer of technology through frontline demonstrations and training in order to extend benefits to the farmers.  The components under NFSM-CC Sugarcane includes demonstration on inter-cropping and single bud chip technology with sugarcane, assistance for breeder seed production, production / supply    of tissue culture plantlets/seedlings, distribution of plant protection chemicals and bio-agents, etc. The Central Government also fixes Fair and Remunerative Price (FRP) of sugarcane, well in advance of sowing season, to induce farmers to sow sugarcane. FRP is a minimum benchmark price below which sugar mills cannot purchase cane from the cane growers.

The states can also support Sugarcane Development Programme under Rashtriya Krishi Vikas Yojana (RKVY) with the approval of State Level Sanctioning Committee (SLCC).


Annexure referred to in reply to parts (a) to (c) of the Lok Sabha Unstarred Question No.111 due for reply on 11.12.2018
 Area of Sugarcane during 2015-16 to 2017-18
State Area (‘000 Hectares)
2015-16 2016-17 2017-18*
Andhra Pradesh 122.0 103.0 99.0
Assam 29.5 31.4 30.0
Bihar 244.0 239.6 236.2
Chhattisgarh 35.5 20.8 29.9
Gujarat 157.0 169.0 182.0
Haryana 93.0 102.0 114.0
Himachal Pradesh 1.9 1.7 1.6
Jammu & Kashmir 0.2 0.0 1.0
Jharkhand 10.2 7.4 7.5
Karnataka 450.0 397.0 350.0
Kerala 1.4 1.1 1.1
Madhya Pradesh 103.0 92.0 98.0
Maharashtra 987.0 633.3 902.0
Orissa 9.0 5.5 3.7
Punjab 90.0 88.0 96.0
Rajasthan 6.1 6.9 5.4
Tamilnadu 252.3 218.3 179.7
Telengana 35.0 29.0 35.0
Uttar Pradesh 2169.0 2160.0 2234.0
Uttarakhand 96.9 93.0 90.0
West Bengal 17.4 21.0 19.2
Others 16.8 15.8 16.7
All-India 4927.1 4435.7 4732.0
* As per 4th Advance Estimates.


This information was given by Minister of State for Ministry of Agriculture & Farmers Welfare  Gajendra Singh Shekhawat.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *