Temperature 18.05 C New Delhi, IN
Tuesday, November 28, 2023
No Image

Radha Mohan Singh gives away ICAR Annual Awards

NEW DELHI: The Union Minister of Agriculture and Farmers Welfare, Radha Mohan Singh on Saturday inaugurated the 88th Foundation Day and Annual Award Function of the Indian Council of Agricultural Research held at Vigyan Bhawan in New Delhi. The Ministers of State for Agriculture and Farmers Welfare, S.S. Ahluwalia, PrushottamRupala and  Sudershan Bhagat were also present on the occasion. A unique feature of the function was that about 700 farmers were also invited and an interactive session with the officials and researchers was also held.

Speaking on the ICAR Foundation Day, the Union Agriculture Minister and Farmers dwelt at length on the achievements and new initiatives/schemes launched by the NDA Government for strengthening agricultural research, education and extension system through institutional development especially in the eastern and the North –Eastern states. Singh further spoke on the developmental schemes such as Soil Health Card, Pradhan Mantri Fasal BimaYojna, National Agricultural Market, Parampragat Krishi Vikas Yojna to promote organic farming, Pradhan Mantri Krishi Sinchayi Yojna, dedicated Kisan Channel on Doordarshan, besides others, launched by the NDA Government for agricultural development in the country.

The ICAR Awards were given to in 19 categories to 119 awardees. The awards were not only for the agricultural researchers and institutions but also for  agricultural journalists, farmers and extension workers.

Dr  T. Mohapatra, Secretary, Department of Agricultural Research and Education (DARE) and Director General, ICAR, welcomed the dignitaries and participants. In his address, the Director General mentioned research on improving productivity and production of pulses and oilseeds as the top priority.