Temperature 26.05 C New Delhi, IN
Saturday, April 13, 2024
No Image

Approval for inclusion of Uttarakhand, Jharkhand and Chhattisgarh under NDP-I

NEW DELHI: The Cabinet Committee on Economic Affairs, chaired by the Prime Minister  Narendra Modi, has given its approval for:

i. Inclusion of Uttarakhand, Jharkhand and Chhattisgarh in the list of States to be covered under the National Dairy Plan- I (NDP-I).

ii. Extended the implementation period upto 2018-19 in order to achieve key outputs of National Dairy Plan- I.

Jharkhand and Chhattisgarh are newly formed States which are primarily inhabited by tribal population having substantial milch animal population and have the potential for coverage under NDP I. Although Uttarakhand was not included for all the approved components under the scheme NDP-I, the Project Implementation Plan document (a part of EFC memo for NDP-I) included sub projects of Animal Breeding and Strengthening of Semen Stations for implementation in Uttarakhand. At present two projects, that is one on Progeny Testing and the other on Strengthening of Semen Station are under implementation. Considering the potential for implementation of Ration Balancing Programme, Fodder Development and Village Based Milk Procurement System, Uttarakhand has also been included under NDP-I; along with Jharkhand and Chhattisgarh.

Due to the time taken in initiating the implementation of sub projects at End Implementing Agencies (EIAs) level and late approval of NDP-I as mentioned above, it is envisaged that the key outputs of NDP-I as planned would be substantially achieved (e.g. bull production target, sustainability of Pilot AI (Artificial Insemination) Delivery services on full cost recovery basis etc.) with the period of NDP I having been extended up to 2018-19.

NDP-I was approved for implementation in 14 milk potential States by National Dairy Development Board (NDDB) through the EIAs with a total outlay of Rs. 2242 crore for a period of six years from 2011-12 to 2016-17. NDP I is now being implemented in 15 States (after Andhra Pradesh was bifurcated into Andhra Pradesh and Telangana) viz. Andhra Pradesh, Bihar, Gujarat, Haryana, Karnataka, Kerala, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Odisha, Punjab, Rajasthan, Tamil Nadu, Telangana, Uttar Pradesh and West Bengal. This 15 states accounts for more than 90 per cent of the country’s milk production, over 87 per cent of the breedable cattle and buffalo population and 98 per cent of the country’s fodder resources. However, coverage of NDP I is across the country in terms of benefits accruing from the project.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *